Say hello to my little friends + the best brunch dish ever

25 08 2011

You know the saying: “First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes a baby in a baby carriage.”

This isn’t a thinly veiled pregnancy announcement for me, by the way. But now that lots of people in our circle of friends are married, we’re starting to get a lot of  e-mails with those precious little black-and-white fetal images. This year alone, we’ve heard of four expecting friends – three are due within the next two months, and one is due in February.

And so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to crochet some baby crafts (and test out my new category name! I’m not sure if I love “Fingerwork;” any thoughts? I probably have more fun thinking up F-Word categories than writing the actual blog posts … )

Now, I think my eyes were bigger than my … fingers? Talent? (Is there a crafting equivalent to “eyes bigger than my stomach?”) But I LOVE crochet and I had a lot of fun making these, and I hope the prospective parents and bundles of joy liked them too.

The booties and the baby rattle

Here’s everything all together. The rolls of paper in the booties are to help them keep their shape.

Some backstory: I’ve been crocheting since I was in my first year of university, having learned double crochet (or triple crochet for any British readers out there) from a rez friend. One trip to Michaels later, I was armed with the invaluable I Taught Myself To Crochet kit and the accompanying crochet hooks and doodads needed to start, and I’ve never looked back. If you want to learn to crochet, BUY THIS BOOK. (The knitting kit is equally wonderful, although the purl instructions in my edition seem to have been reversed.)

I really enjoy crocheting and find it a lot easier and faster than knitting, although I still have problems keeping my crochet projects looking neat, as you can tell from the picture above.

Anyway, I started with the little guy in the middle for our friends Mrs. and Mr. T. (ha!), who are due in September. He’s supposed to be a bunny baby rattle, based on Bernat Design Studio’s “Bunny & Bear Rattles” (Bernat #530199, Baby Gifts)

© Bernat Design Studio

I tried to base my little bunny rattle on another little rabbit fellow I love, by using Bernat Softee Baby in Mint. Appropriately, the baby’s initials will be HT, which matched up perfectly with our bunny companion, HP.

HP and HT

Here’s HT (right) with big bro HP, who inspired his colouring.

(We’re totally children in this household.)

There’s a bit of a family resemblance, as you can see, but I think I botched his eyes, so HT’s a little scary-looking. Also, I really should have put more stuffing in his head – FYI I used a bit of felt, a lot of cotton balls, and a cat rattle from the grocery store for the stuffing.

I put a little “twinkle” in his eyes later by using a bit of white embroidery yarn and a French knot, but I don’t know if it really helped. I also added a white ribbon around his neck.

My next project were the adorable “Mary Jane Booties” from the same Bernat Design Studio Baby Gifts pamphlet.

Mary Jane Booties

© Bernat Design Studio

I found these considerably more challenging, but somehow I think they ended up looking better, although one bootie was a little bigger than the other.

Front view of the booties

Closeup of the booties

I really love the aqua buttons I put on the booties. I think they add a cute little touch, don’t you?

By the way, you’ll notice that some of these links point to Ravelry.com. I must say, it’s a lovely site and not at all time-wasting (depending on what your definition of that is). If you knit or crochet, you must check out this site. I was in love from the minute I saw the login screen – llamas! Baby sheep! Frolicking in an adorable pink mound of yarn! Super cute. Plus, it’s actually a useful resource for crafters, since you can neatly catalog your projects, equipment and yarns and scope out your next endeavour. I read somewhere that Ravelry’s team is really good about posting up pretty much every pattern available out there, and I must say I was surprised to see pictures for my Bernat projects there too.

I have another baby project planned for the friend who’s due in February, which I found on Ravelry, but that’s a secret as she reads this blog. More to come on that later!

***

On a sort of related, somewhat crafty note, I wanted to share one of the prettiest and easiest brunch dishes I’ve ever had the pleasure of making. It really looks like it took hours to put together, but it’s simple enough to make for a quick weeknight dinner. There’s not too many ingredients or steps either.

Easy Veggie Twist

Apologies for the somewhat fuzzy photo. I have rather shaky hands.

It’s called the Easy Baked Cheese & Vegetable Twist and it’s from Kraft Canada’s What’s Cooking? magazine – which, by the way, is an awesome resource for quick, tasty meals for busy folks, right up there with CanadianLiving.com.

Laying the crescent roll dough can be a bit tricky, but at the end of the day it’s not that important to get a perfect circle since you’ll be tucking the ends on top of the filling, which gives it a pretty shape.

If you’re a perfectionist, I recommend baking this on a pizza stone to get the shape right, although I just used a regular cookie sheet with Pam cooking spray the first time, and parchment paper the second time (which worked much better).

You can put anything in this twist, although I do like the original vegetarian version, especially as I got to use cherry tomatoes from my own garden. Some of the commenters on Kraft’s website said they put cooked ham or peppers in, and I put crumbled goat cheese in the first time I made it.

My only quibble with the recipe is that it makes way too much filling for one twist with the recommended two cans of crescent roll dough. I ended up making another twist with another two cans.

Easy Veggie Twist

A better look at the insides. Unfortunately I didn’t take a good picture of the first twist I made, which had more colour from the cherry tomatoes.

Super yum! It was a hit at the going-away potluck I had with my church ladies’ group. I’ll definitely be making this again.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 08 2011
andy1076

You have an incredibly creative side, kudos on being so amazing on crafts and ideas! i’ll be visiting often 🙂

4 07 2012
Bringing up baby (clothes) « F-Words: Profanity-free thoughts

[…] …and using a skein of mint Bernat Baby yarn that I had left over from my bunny rattle project. […]

Leave a Reply

